

## The 24TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL Office of the Speaker

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Members of 24th Navajo Nation Council appointed to Tribal-Interior Budget Council committees

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. – Nov. 13, 2019 – The Tribal-Interior Budget Council (TIBC) meeting in Washington, D.C. scheduled from Nov. 12-14, included the appointment of six members of the 24th Navajo Nation Council to various committees.

"Congratulations to the newly-appointed TIBC positions filled by Navajo Nation Council Delegates," said Speaker Seth Damon (Baahaali, Chichiltah, Manuelito, Red Rock, Rock Springs, Tsayatoh).

"TIBC is an opportunity for Navajo to work with other tribes across Indian Country to formulate budgets for our respective tribal nations," he said. "We appreciate the dedication of our tribal lawmakers for taking on additional responsibilities at the national level."

The delegates were in Washington for their final quarterly budget formulation meeting of 2019.

Delegate Eugenia Charles-Newton (Shiprock) said, "Being elected Chair for the Public Safety Subcommittee for the Tribal Interior Budget Council is an honor and a huge responsibility. Like Navajo, many tribes across Indian Country struggle to address public safety concerns because of the improper allocation of funds."

She is following in footsteps of Delegate Kee Allen Begay Jr. (Low Mountain, Many Farms, Nazlini, Tachee-Blue Gap, Tselani-Cottonwood), who initiated the conversation with other tribes for additional public safety funding.

"I will carry on the work that Honorable Begay started and continue to work with tribal leaders and law enforcement, as well as federal counterparts to advocate for more funding on behalf of Navajo and all of Indian Country, so that we may keep our people safe," she said.

The new appointments TIBC subcommittees include:

Delegate Jamie Henio (Alamo, Ramah, Tohajiilee) appointed as the Budget Chairman; Delegate Paul Begay (Bodaway-Gap, Coppermine, K'aibii'to, LeChee, Tonalea- Red Lake) appointed as a member of Education; Delegate Charles-Newton appointed as Public Safety Chairwoman; Delegate Begay (appointed co-chairman of Road Maintenance; Delegate Pernell Halona (Bahastl'a'a', Coyote Canyon, Mexican Springs, Naschitti, Tohatchi) appointed as a member of Data Management; and Delegate Raymond Smith Jr. (Houck, Klagetoh, Lupton, Nahata Dziil, Wide Ruins) appointed as a member of Land and Water.

Speaker Damon said, "This is the first time that the Navajo Nation has had this many leaders on the TIBC subcommittees. This is a great day for Navajo leadership."