THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: _0023-23__

SPONSOR: Crystalyne Curley

TITLE: An Action Relating to the Naabik'íváti Committee; Approving the Speaker's Appointment of the Navajo Nation Council Members to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission

Date posted: February 17, 2023 at 5:17PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to <u>comments@navajo-nsn.gov</u>

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director Office of Legislative Services P.O. Box 3390 Window Rock, AZ 86515 (928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

Please note: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.*

LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET Tracking No. 0023-23

DATE: February 16, 2023

TITLE OF RESOLUTION: AN ACTION RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE; APPROVING THE SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENT OF NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE NAVAJO-HOPI LAND COMMISSION

PURPOSE: This resolution, if approved, will confirm the Speaker's appointment of nine (9) members to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission of the 25th Navajo Nation Council.

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committee. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each committee member to review the proposed resolution in detail.

OLC No. 23-058-1

5-DAY BILL H		
	ting Time/Date: Naabik'íyáti' (ommittee
Posting End Eligible for A		
1	PROPOSED STANDING COMMITTEE RESOLUTION	
2	25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL First Year, 2023	
3	INTRODUCED BY	
4	AT AT	
5		
6	(Prime Sponsor)	
7		
8	TRACKING NO	
9		
10	AN ACTION	
11	RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE; APPROVING THE SPEAKER'S	
12	APPOINTMENTS OF NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE	
13	NAVAJO-HOPI LAND COMMISSION	
14		
15	BE IT ENACTED:	
16		
17	SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY	
18	A. The Navajo Nation Council established the Naabik'íyáti' Committee as a Navajo	
19	Nation standing committee. 2 N.N.C. §§ 700 (A).	
20	B. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee approves the Navajo Nation Speaker's appointments	
21	to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission. 2 N.N.C. § 852 (A).	
22		
23	SECTION TWO. FINDINGS	
24	A. The Navajo Nation Council established the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission within	
25	the Legislative Branch. 2 N.N.C. § 851 (A).	
26	B. The Navajo-Hopi Land Commission's purpose is to "[m]onitor, collect, and update	
27	information on any and all land use conflicts between the Navajo Nation and the Hopi	
28	Tribe, and any claimants in and to lands within the area described in the Act of June	
29	14, 1934 (48 Stat. 960) [and to] [s]peak and act for the Navajo Nation with respect to	
30	the land selection and land exchange provisions of P.L. 96-305." 2 N.N.C. § 851 (B).	
	Page 1 of 2 23-058-1	

1	C. The Speaker shall appoint nine Navajo Nation Council voting members who
2	represent areas affected by the Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute. 2 N.N.C. § 852 (A).
3	D. The Speaker's memorandum appointing nine members to the Navajo-Hopi Land
4	Commission is attached as Exhibit A.
5	E. The Navajo-Hopi Land Commission members shall serve at the pleasure of the
6	Naabik'íyáti' Committee. 2 N.N.C. § 852 (B) (2).
7	F. The Navajo-Hopi Land Commission members shall serve a term coinciding with their
8	term as Navajo Nation Council Delegates and until their successors are appointed. 2
9	N.N.C. § 852 (D).
10	
11	Section Three. Approving Appointments
12	The Naabik'iyáti' Committee approves the Speaker's appointment of Navajo Nation
13	Council members to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission:
14	1. Honorable Steven R. Arviso
15	2. Honorable Lomardo Aseret
16	3. Honorable Helena Nez Begay
17	4. Honorable Herman M. Daniels
18	5. Honorable Vince R. James
19	6. Honorable Germaine Simonson
20	7. Honorable Otto Tso
21	8. Honorable Cherilyn Yazzie
22	9. Honorable Crystalyne Curley
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	

.

.