HEALTH, EDUCATION AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE 25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

SPECIAL MEETING February 24, 2023 9:00 AM

APPROVED AGENDA

- **PRESIDING** : Honorable Vince R. James, Chairperson Honorable Germaine Simonson, Vice-Chairperson
- PLACE : Navajo Nation Council Chambers Via Telecommunications: Call-In Number: 1-669-900-6833 MTG ID: 979-985-0956 Passcode: 86515 Window Rock, Navajo Nation (AZ)
- [] Helena Nez Begay[] Germaine Simonson[] Vince R. James[] George Tolth[] Dr. Andy Nez[] Curtis Yanito

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER; ROLL CALL; INVOCATION; ANNOUNCEMENTS

2. RECOGNIZE GUESTS AND VISITING OFFICIALS

3. REVIEW AND ADOPT AGENDA

s:

m:

Not Voting:

4. REVIEW AND ADOPT THE JOURNAL(S): None

٧:

5. RECEIVING REPORT(s):

ORIENTATION:

<u>3 CHALLENGES of Each:</u> Navaio Nation

Federal

Arizona New Mexico

Utah

OBJECTIVES:

Goals Accomplishments

Program Summary Program Challenges Solutions Timeline of Solutions Solutions Timeline of Solutions

A. Division of Social Services

Overview of NDSS and Authorities, Plan of Operations, Organizational Chart, DSS Priorities, Strategic Plan, etc.;

Presenter(s): Thomas Cody, Executive Director (Nominee) Marlinda Littleman, Deputy Division Director

- > Office of Executive Director Sections
- Financial Management
- > Department of Child Care and Development
- Department for Self Reliance
- Developmental Disabilities Program
- Navajo Treatment Center for Children & Their Families
- Navajo Family Assistance Services Office
 - Burial Assistance
 - Community Services Block (CSBG)
 - General Assistance
 - Low Income Household Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Navajo Indian Child Welfare Act Program
- Department of Family Services
 - Adoption Unit
 - Family Harmony Program

m: s:

Not Voting:

- 6. OLD BUSINESS: None
- 7. NEW BUSINESS: None

8. CLOSE OF MEETING; ANNOUNCEMENTS; ADJOURNMENT

v:

NEXT MEETING(S):

Regular Meeting, Wednesday, March 8, 2023

m: s: v: Not Voting:

<u>THIS "SCHEDULE" / AGENDA SUBJECT TO CHANGE</u>: The public is advised that the Navajo Nation Council Agenda and the Agendas of the Standing Committees are not final until adopted by a majority vote of the Navajo Nation Council or the Standing Committees at a Navajo Nation Council or a Standing Committee meeting pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §§163 and 183, Navajo Nation Council Rule of Order No. 7, and Standing Rule of Order No. 8.

Marlinda Littleman, Deputy Div. Director Brenda Tsosie, Principal Accountant Sylvia M. Tyler, Department Manager III Roxanne Gorman, Department Manager III Freida White, Program Manager Anthony Begay, Delegated Prog. Manager Raeann Metteba, Senior Programs & Projects Specialist

Crescentia Tso, Delegated Prog. Mgr. II

Thomas Cody & Marlinda Littleman