RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE Work Session with the Division of Natural Resources, Navajo Environmental Protection Agency and Freeport-McMoRan, Inc. (Cyprus Amax Minerals Company and Western Nuclear Inc.)

Tuesday, May 30, 2023 9:00 a.m.

AGENDA

- **PRESIDING**:Hon. Brenda Jesus, ChairpersonHon. Casey Allen Johnson, Vice-Chairperson
- LOCATION: Navajo Nation Land Department 2B Taylor Road, Building #8966 St. Michaels, Arizona 86511

via Telecommunication***

Call-In Number:	1-669-900-6833
Meeting ID:	732-628-2566
Passcode:	86515

*** Due to Limited Space at the Navajo Nation Land Department, Access will be Telephonic for the Public. Space at the Navajo Nation Land Department is Limited to the Resources and Development Committee and Staff.

1. Welcome; Roll Call; Invocation; and Introduction

[] Brenda Jesus (C)	[] Casey Allen Johnson (VC)	[] Shawna Ann Claw
[] Rickie Nez	[] Danny Simpson	[] Otto Tso

2. Purpose of the Work Session: The Resources and Development Committee has scheduled a work session with Division of Natural Resources, Navajo Environmental Protection Agency and Freeport-McMoRan, Inc. (Cyprus Amax Minerals Company and Western Nuclear Inc.) to discuss the consent decree and the efforts to remediate the ninety-four (94) Abandoned Uranium Mines (AUMs) on the Navajo Nation.

3. Presentations/Discussions:

a. Presentation by Freeport-McMoRan, Inc. on the Consent Decree and their Efforts to Remediate Ninety-Four (94) Abandoned Uranium Mines on the Navajo Nation Preand Post-Pandemic, and the Current Status. *Presenters: Bryce Romig, Director, Remediation Projects; Jennifer Laggan, Manager, Remediation Projects; and Lydelle Davies, Community Outreach Liaison, Freeport-McMoRan, Inc.* b. Presentation on Updated Information and the Reclamation Progress of Abandoned Uranium Mines on the Navajo Nation by the Division of Natural Resources and Navajo Environmental Protection Agency. Presenters: Melvin Yazzie, Principal Mining Engineer, Navajo Abandoned Mine Lands Reclamation Department, Division of Natural Resources; and Stephen B. Etsitty, Acting Division Director, Navajo Environmental Protection Agency

4. Questions/Recommendations/Follow-Ups

5. Conclusion of Meeting and Adjournment