## THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: \_0093-23\_\_ SPONSOR: <u>Brenda Jesus</u>

TITLE: An Action Relating to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation
Council; Confirming the Appointment of Ms.Sharron Warren to the Commission
on Navajo Government Development for a Term of Four (4) Years as the Fort
Defiance Agency Council Representative

Date posted: May 01, 2023 at 6:13PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to <a href="maileo">comments@navajo-nsn.gov</a>

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director Office of Legislative Services P.O. Box 3390 Window Rock, AZ 86515 (928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

**Please note**: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.* 

## LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET Tracking No. <u>0093-23</u>

**DATE: April 20, 2023** 

TITLE OF RESOLUTION: AN ACTION RELATING TO THE NAABIK'ÍYATI' COMMITTEE AND NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MS. SHARRON WARREN TO THE COMMISSION ON NAVAJO GOVERNMENT DEVELOPMENT FOR A TERM OF FOUR (4) YEARS AS THE FORT DEFIANCE AGENCY COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE

**PURPOSE:** This resolution, if approved, will appoint Ms. Sharron Warren to the Commission on Navajo Government Development for a Term of Four-Years as the Fort Defiance Agency Council Representative.

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committee. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate to review the proposed resolution in detail.

5-DAY BILL HO	tradik lyati opin	
Posting End D	Date: 02	Thence
Eligible for Ac		Journell
1	PROPOSED STANDING COMMITTEE RESOLUTION	
2	25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL — 1st Year, 2023	
3		
4	INTRODUCED BY	
5	$\Lambda$	
6	the the	
7	Primary Spensor	
8		
9	TRACKING NO. <u>0093-23</u>	
10		
11	AN ACTION	
12	RELATING TO THE NAABIK'ÍYATI' COMMITTEE AND NAVAJO NATION	
13	COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MS. SHARRON	
14	WARREN TO THE COMMISSION ON NAVAJO GOVERNMENT	
15	DEVELOPMENT FOR A TERM OF FOUR (4) YEARS AS THE FORT	
16	DEFIANCE AGENCY COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE	
17		
18	BE IT ENACTED:	
19		
20	SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY	
21	A. The Naabik'iyati' Committee has legislative oversight authority over the Commission	
22	on Navajo Government Development and the Office of Navajo Government	
23	Development. 2 N.N.C. § 970.	
24	B. The Naabik'iyati' Committee is a standing committee of the Navajo Nation Council	
25	which is empowered to recommend all resolutions to the Navajo Nation Council on	
26	matters within the Committee's jurisdiction pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §§ 700(A), 701	
27	(A)(3).	
28	C. The Navajo Nation Council confirms appointments to the Commission on Navajo	
29	Government Development. 2 N.N.C. § 972 (A)(5).	
30		
	Page 1 of 2 23-155-1	

- A. The Commission on Navajo Government Development is a special entity created by the Navajo Nation Council with quasi-independent authority to accomplish the People's project of instituting reforms necessary to ensure an accountable and responsible government. 2 N.N.C. § 970.
- B. The Commission consists of twelve (12) members confirmed by and serving at the pleasure of the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 972 (A).
- C. Five (5) members shall be nominated from the five (5) agencies of the Navajo Nation. Each agency council shall nominate one (1) member from recommendations to be submitted by chapters in each agency, said nominee shall be either Chapter officers, local Government/Governance Commissioners, Grazing Committee/Land Board members, or school board members. These members shall serve a term of four (4) years from the date of confirmation by the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 972 (A)(5).
- D. Commission members shall be chosen from among individuals who have demonstrated scholarship, a strong sense of civic interest, knowledge of Dine' history and cultural heritage, spiritual leadership, leadership in the Navajo government and abilities likely to contribute to the fulfillment of the duties of the commission. 2 N.N.C. § 972 (D).
- E. The Navajo Nation Fort Defiance Agency Council nominated and recommended Ms. Sharron Warren to serve on the Commission on Navajo Government Development pursuant to Resolution No. FDAC 04-23-001, attached as **Exhibit A**, to fill the Fort Defiance Agency Council Representative position.
- F. Ms. Sharron Warren's letter of interest and resumé are attached as Exhibit B.
- SECTION THREE. CONFIRMATION OF MS. SHARRON WARREN
  - The Navajo Nation hereby confirms the appointment of Ms. Sharron Warren as the Fort Defiance Agency Council Representative, to the Commission on Navajo Government Development, for a term of four (4) years from the date of confirmation by the Navajo Nation Council.