THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: _0117-23__ SPONSOR: <u>Shaandiin Parrish</u>

TITLE: An Action Relating to the Budget and Finance Committee; Appointing Delegate Members from the Budget and Finance Committee to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, LLC as a Member Representative; the Diné Development Corporation as a Shareholder Representative; the Navajo Times Publishing Company as a Shareholder Representative; the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution as a Shareholder Representative; and to the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation as a Shareholder Representative

Date posted: May 25, 2023 at 9:46AM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to comments@navajo-nsn.gov

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director
Office of Legislative Services
P.O. Box 3390
Window Rock, AZ 86515
(928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

Please note: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.*

LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET Tracking No. 017-23

DATE: May 24, 2023

TITLE OF RESOLUTION: AN ACTION RELATING TO THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE; APPOINTING DELEGATE MEMBERS FROM THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE TO THE NAVAJO TRANSITIONAL ENERGY COMPANY, LLC AS A MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE; THE DINÉ DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO TIMES PUBLISHING COMPANY AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; AND TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL AND GAS CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE

PURPOSE: This resolution, if approved, will appoint Delegate Members from the Budget and Finance Committee to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, LLC as a Member Representative; the Diné Development Corporation as a Shareholder Representative; the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution as a Shareholder Representative; and to the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation as a Shareholder Representative.

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committee. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate to review the proposed resolution in detail.

	OLD PERIOD: Budget & Finance Corting Time/Date:	nmittee
Posting End		
Eligible for A		
1	PROPOSED STANDING COMMITTEE RESOLUTION	
2	25 th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL – First Year, 2023	
3		
4	INTRODUCED BY .	
5		
6		
7	(Prime Sponsor)	
8		
9	TRACKING NO. <u>0117-23</u>	
10		
11	AN ACTION	
12	RELATING TO THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE; APPOINTING	
13	DELEGATE MEMBERS FROM THE BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE	
14	TO THE NAVAJO TRANSITIONAL ENERGY COMPANY, LLC AS A	
15	MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE; THE DINÉ DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION	
16	AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE NAVAJO TIMES	
17	PUBLISHING COMPANY AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; THE	
18	NAVAJO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION AS A	
19	SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE; AND TO THE NAVAJO NATION OIL	
20	AND GAS CORPORATION AS A SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE	
21		
22	BE IT ENACTED:	
23		
24	SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY	
25	A. The Budget and Finance Committee is established as a standing committee of the	
26	Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. §300(A).	
27		
28	SECTION TWO. FINDINGS	
29	A. Standing committees are required to select a member to serve as a Shareholder	
30	Representative or Member Representative for certain Navajo Nation enterprises.	
	D. 1.63	

- B. The Operating Agreement of the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, LLC, at Article III (C) states that the membership interest in the Company "shall be exercised by five (5) "member representatives," composed of one (1) member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council (or their successor committees)..."
- C. The By-Laws of the Diné Development Corporation provide, "[a]s the sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation will be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives' comprised of one member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees..."
- D. The By-Laws of Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc. state, "[a]s a sole shareholder, the Navajo Nation's shares in the Corporation shall be exercised by five (5) 'shareholder representatives' comprised of one member from each of the five (5) standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees . . ."
- E. The By-Laws of the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution state that "the Navajo Nation's shares in the corporation shall be exercised by five (5) "Shareholder Representatives," composed of the one member (1) of the Standing Committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees..."
- F. The Charter of the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation at Article V (D) states "All rights of the shareholder of the Corporation shall be exercised by the appointed shareholder representatives, composed of one member from each of the standing committees of the Navajo Nation Council or their successor committees"
- G. The Budget and Finance Committee is permitted to designate one-member representative to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, the Diné Development Corporation, the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc., and the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution.

SECTION THREE. BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE AND SHAREHOLDER REPRESENTATIVE DESIGNEES

- A. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Transitional Energy Company: Hon. Lomardo Aseret.
- B. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Diné Development Corporation: <u>Hon.</u>
 Norman M. Begay.
- C. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Times Publishing Company, Inc.: <u>Hon.</u> Shaandiin Parrish.
- D. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution: Hon. Carl R. Slater.
- E. The following member from the Budget and Finance Committee is designated to serve as its member representative to the Navajo Nation Oil and Gas Corporation: Hon. Seth Damon.