# NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE OF THE 25<sup>th</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

## SPECIAL MEETING

# Call-in Number: (669) 900-6833 Meeting ID: 928 871 7160 Passcode: 86515

## Window Rock, Navajo Nation (AZ)

## Thursday, May 25, 2023 - 11:00 AM

## **APPROVED AGENDA**

## PRESIDING CHAIR: Honorable Crystalyne Curley, Speaker, 25th Navajo Nation Council

Hon. Crystalyne Curley, Speaker			
BUDGET & FINANCE COMMITTEE	HEALTH, EDUCATION, AND HUMAN SERVICES COMM.	RESOURCES & DEVELOPMENT COMM.	LAW & ORDER COMMITTEE
Hon. Shaandiin Parrish (c)	Hon. Vince R. James (c)	Hon. Brenda Jesus (c)	Hon. Eugenia Charles-Newton (c)
Hon. Carl R. Slater (vc)	Hon. Germaine Simonson (vc)	Hon. Casey A. Johnson (vc)	Hon. Cherilyn Yazzie (vc)
Hon. Lomardo Aseret	Hon. Helena Nez Begay	Hon. Shawna A. Claw	Hon. Steven R. Arviso
Hon. Norman M. Begay	Hon. Dr. Andy Nez	Hon. Rickie Nez	Hon. Herman M. Daniels
Hon. Amber Kanazbah Crotty	Hon. George Tolth	Hon. Danny Simpson	Hon. Nathan Notah
Hon. Seth Damon	Hon. Curtis Yanito	Hon. Otto Tso	(C) Chair & (VC) Vice-Chair

# 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER; ROLL CALL; INVOCATION

## 2. RECOGNIZE GUESTS AND VISITING OFFICIALS (2 Minute Limit per Delegate)

## **3. REVIEW AND ADOPT THE AGENDA**

- (m) Hon. G. Tolth (s) Hon E. Charles-Newton (v) 20-0
- 4. REVIEW AND ADOPT THE JOURNALS: April 13, 2023; April 27, 2023; and May 11, 2023

(m) (s) (v)

#### 5. RECEIVE REPORTS:

- A. Report on Ongoing Negotiations of the Debt Ceiling and Potential Impacts within the Navajo Nation Report provided by Justin Ahasteen, Executive Director, Navajo Nation Washington Office
  - (m) (s) (v)
- B. Report on Building Closure of Window Rock Department of Economic Security Office Report provided by Andrew Rogers, AZ Department of Economic Security and Staff
- (m) (s) (v)

## 6. OLD BUSINESS: NONE

## 7. NEW BUSINESS:

Consent Agenda

A. <u>LEGISLATION 0082-23</u>: An Action Relating to the Naabik'íyáti Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Approving the Navajo Nation Fiscal Recovery Fund Delegate Region Project Plan for Honorable Curtis Yanito's Delegate Region (Chapters: Mexican Water, To'likan, Tee Nos Pos, Aneth, Red Mesa).

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Curtis Yanito

**LEGISLATION 0103-23:** An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Amending CAP-11-23, the Navajo Nation Fiscal Recovery Fund Delegate Region Project Plan for Honorable Steven R. Arviso's Delegate Region (Chapters: Churchrock, Iyanbito, Mariano Lake, Pinedale, Smith Lake, Thoreau), to Include Additional Projects for this Delegate Region

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Steven R. Arviso

**LEGISLATION 0110-23:** An Action Relating to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Amending CAP-09-23 and CD-61-22, the Navajo Nation Fiscal Recovery Fund Delegate Region Project Plan for Honorable Vince R. James' Delegate Region (Chapters: Jeddito, Cornfields, Ganado, Kinlichee, Steamboat) to Include Additional Projects for this Delegate Region

## SPONSOR: Honorable Vince R. James

**LEGISLATION 0111-23:** An Action Relating to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Approving the Navajo Nation Fiscal Recovery Fund Delegate Region Project Plan for Honorable Lomardo Aseret's Delegate Region (Chapters: Klagetoh, Wide Ruins, Houck, Lupton, Nahata Dziil)

## SPONSOR: Honorable Lomardo Aseret

**LEGISLATION 0112-23:** An Action Relating to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Approving the Navajo Nation Fiscal Recovery Fund Delegate Region Project Plan for Honorable Danny Simpson's Delegate Region (Chapters: Becenti, Lake Valley, Nahodishgish, Standing Rock, Whiterock, Huerfano, Nageezi, Crownpoint)

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Danny Simpson

(m)

# ) (v)

B. <u>LEGISLATION 0092-23:</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'iyati' Committee; Confirming the Speaker of the 25<sup>th</sup> Navajo Nation Council's Appointments to the Naabik'iyati' Committee's Gaming Subcommittee

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Brenda Jesus

(m) (s) (v)

(s)

C. <u>LEGISLATION 0098-23</u>: An Action Relating to the Budget and Finance and Naabik'iyáti' Committees and the Navajo Nation Council; Approving \$2,695,476 from the Unreserved, Undesignated fund Balance ("UUFB") for Various Programs Under the Executive and Legislative Branches, to Cover Their Expenses for the Remainder of FY2023; Waiving 12 N.N.C. §820 (E), § 820 (F), § 820 (J), and §820 (L) to Allow Use of UUFB Funds for Recurring Expenses

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Seth Damon

(m)

D. <u>LEGISLATION 0101-23</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'iyati Committee; Establishing the 25<sup>th</sup> Navajo Nation Council Naabik'iyati' Title Two Reform Subcommittee

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Curtis Yanito

- (m) (s) (v)
- E. <u>LEGISLATION 0102-23</u>: An Action Relating to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Amending CAP-10-23, the Navajo Nation Fiscal Recovery Fund Delegate Region Project Plan for Honorable Helena Nez Begay's Delegate Region (Chapters: Coppermine, K'aibii'to, LeChee, Tonalea/Red Lake, Bodaway Gap), to include Additional Projects for this Delegate Region.

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Helena Nez Begay CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Seth Damon

F. <u>LEGISLATION 0107-23</u>: An Action Relating to the Naabik'iyati' Committee; Approving Certain Amendments to the Plan of Operation for the Office of the President and Vice-President, Relating to the Executive Protection Services Program

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Seth Damon

(v)

- (m) (s)
- G. <u>LEGISLATION 0084-23</u>: An Act Relating to Law and Order and Naabik'iyati Committees; Supporting the Navajo Nation Division of Public Safety Window Rock Judicial/Public Safety Facility Relocation to Fort Defiance, Arizona

#### **SPONSOR:** Honorable Andy Nez

(m)

(s) (v)

## 8. CLOSE OF MEETING; ANNOUNCEMENTS; ADJOURNMENT

AGENDA SUBJECT TO CHANGE: The public is advised that the Navajo Nation Council Agenda and the Agendas of the Standing Committees are not final until adopted by a majority vote of the Navajo Nation Council or the Standing Committee at a Navajo Nation Council or a Standing Committee meeting pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §§163 and 183, Navajo Nation Council Rule of Order No. 7, and Standing Committee Rule of Order No. 8.

Livestream will be available online at:YouTube: <u>www.youtube.com/navajonationcouncil</u>