AGENDA

HEALTH, EDUCATION AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE 25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

SPECIAL MEETING

April 29, 2024

In lieu of April 15, 2024 9:00 AM

PRES	SIDING:		nce R. James, C. ermaine Simonso	fonson, Vice Chairperson Ference Room (In-Person)			
PLA	C E :	Via Telecomr	nunications: ber: 1-669-900				
[] Helena Nez Begay				[] Germaine Simonson			
	'ince R. Jar r. Andy N			[] George Tolth [] Curtis Yanito			
 3. 	RECOGNIZE GUESTS AND VISITING OFFICIALS REVIEW AND ADOPT AGENDA						
J.	m:	s:	v:	Not Voting:			
4.	REVIEW AND ADOPT THE JOURNAL(S): ➤ March 11, 2024 – Regular Meeting ➤ March 25, 2024 – Regular Meeting						
	m:	s:	v:	Not Voting:			
5.	RECEIV	VING REPOR	RT:				

- A. Update Report:
 - * Compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and
 - Navajo Nation Civil Rights of Individuals with Disabilities Act—

 CJY-38-22: An Act Relating to the Budget and Finance, Health, Education and Human Services, and Naabik'íyáti' Committees, and the Navajo Nation Council; Approving \$13,334,871 from the Unreserved, Undesignated Fund Balance ("UUFB") for the Renovations Necessary at Certain

Navajo Nation Government Facilities to Provide Access to Persons with Disabilities; and Waiving 12 N.N.C. § 820(M) Regarding OMB Review

Navajo Nation Advisory Council on Disability (NNACOD)

- ❖ Navajo Nation Disability Initiatives:
- Navajo Nation Advisory Council on Disability (NNCOD)
- Native American Disability Law Center
 - Navajo Nation Disability Laws
- NNCOD Disability Initiatives:
 - Navajo Nation Personnel Policies
 - Disability Voter Accessibility to Polling Places
 - o Public Transportation
 - o Public Building Accessibility
 - NHA Housing
 - Navajo Nation Fair Ground Accessibility

Presenters: Hoskie Benally, Jr., President; NNACOD

Nicole Curley, Disability Community Member

Elton Yazzie, Member; NNACOD

Austin Moore, Staff Attorney; Native American Disability Law Center

m: s: v: Not Voting:

B. Navajo Nation Departments and Divisions; NHA and BIE

- Compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and
- ➤ Navajo Nation Civil Rights of Individuals with Disabilities Act CJY-38-22

I. Office of the President and Vice President:

Presenters: Yolanda Azua, OPVP Executive Staff Assistant; Disabilities Initiatives Special Project

Patrick Sandoval, Chief of Staff, Office of the President and Vice President

II. Division of Human Resources:

> Navajo Nation Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Presenters: Debbie Nez Manuel, Executive Director, Navajo Division of Human Resources

Frank Roanhorse, Program Manager, NOSHA

III. Division of General Services:

Presenters: Marcus Tully, Department Manager III, Facilities Maintenance Department – Navajo

Nation Division of General Services

Shawnavan Dale, Division Director, Division of General Services

IV. <u>Navajo Division of Social Services</u>:

Presenter: Thomas Cody, Director – Navajo Division of Social Services

V. Navajo Division of Health

➤ Division of Aging and Long-Term Care Support (DALTCS)

Presenters: Anslem Lewis, Jr., Health Service Administrator (Interim), DALTCS

Kim Russell, Director - Navajo Division of Health

VI. Department of Public Safety

Presenter: Michael Anderson, Executive Director, Navajo Division of Public Safety

VII. <u>Navajo Division of Transportation</u>:

➤ Navajo Transit

Presenters: Calvin Castillo, Department Manager Navajo Division of Transportation

Tom Platero, Division Director, Navajo Division of Transportation

VIII. Division of Community Development:

Navajo Nation Chapters

Presenters: Jeron Charley, Department Manager, Administrative Service Centers

Arbin Mitchell, Division Director, Navajo Division of Community Development

IX. Navajo Judicial Courts:

Presenters: Bennie Francisco, Jr., Administrator Director of the Courts; Administrative Office of

Courts (AOC)

JoAnn Jayne, Chief Justice, Navajo Judicial Branch

X. Navajo Housing Authority

Presenters: Heather L. Duncan-Etsitty, Chief Executive Officer, NHA

Ernest Franklin, Chief Operations Officer, NHA

XI. Bureau of Indian Education

		Presenter:	Dr. Sharon Her Education – Na		-	ecialist – Native Language, Bureau of Indian	
		m:	s:	v:		Not Voting:	
6.		OLD BUSIN	NESS: None				
7. NEW BUSINESS:							
	A.	Legislation No. 0083-24: An Action Relating to the Health, Education and Human Services Committee, Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointmen of Kim Russell as the Health Director of the Navajo Nation Department of Health. Sponsor: Delegate Andy Nez					
		m:	s:	v:		Not Voting:	
	В.	Legislation No. 0084-24: An Action Relating to the Health, Education and Human Services Committee; Approving and Adopting the Navajo Nation Veterans Administration Housing Program Policy as the Eligibility Criteria for Receiving Services Under the Veterans Housing Projects Expenditure Plan. Sponsor: Delegate Andy Nez					
		m:	s:	v:		Not Voting:	
	C.	C. Legislation No. 0087-24: An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services Commander Amending and Approving the Navajo Department of Health Division of Behavioral and Mental Health Comprehensive Policies and Procedures Sponsor: Delegate Andy Nez					
		m:	s:	v:		Not Voting:	
8.			MEETING; AI TING(S) / TRA		NCEMENTS;	ADJOURNMENT	
		> Friday, M	Iay 10, 2024		10:00 am	NTU Spring Commencement/Graduation NTU Campus; Crownpoint, NM	
			lay 10, 2024 cement/Graduat	ion	10:00 am	Dine College Spring	

		Dine College Campus Quad Area (in front of the library); Tsaile, NN (AZ)
Monday, May 10, 2024	10:00 am	Northern Arizona University Spring Commencement /Graduation NAU Campus – Flagstaff, AZ
➤ Monday May 13, 2024	10:00 am	HEHSC Regular Meeting Budget and Finance Conference Room
Saturday, May 18, 2024	10:00 am	Navajo Preparatory School Spring Graduation Navajo Preparatory School Campus Farmington, NM
➤ Monday, May 20, 2024	10:00 am	HEHSC Regular Meeting Budget and Finance Conference Room
> Reschedule: Monday, May 2	27, 2024	Memorial Day - Observed Federal Holiday

m: s: v: Not Voting:

THIS AGENDA SUBJECT TO CHANGE: The public is advised that the Navajo Nation Council Agenda and the Agendas of the Standing Committees are not final until adopted by a majority vote of the Navajo Nation Council or the Standing Committees at a Navajo Nation Council or a Standing Committee meeting pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §§163 and 183, Navajo Nation Council Rule of Order No. 7, and Standing Rule of Order No. 8.